Skip to content

Heidi + Stephen // chic Santa Monica wedding

November 11, 2010

It’s amazing to me when I sit and listen to wedding toasts what is revealed about the heart of the bride and groom at hand.  Sometimes the speeches are short and sweet, and other times, like Heidi and Stephen’s wedding, I hide behind my camera in a vain effort to conceal the giant tear welling in my eye and thank the Lord for the amazing people He puts into my life.  Even though I may somehow miss them the first time around.

I don’t remember exactly when I met Heidi and Logan….sorry, STEPHEN.  Stephen is one of my longtime, beach volleyball friends, and truth-be-told I didn’t know Logan wasn’t his first name for at least the first two years that I knew him.  Then Heidi came along, and that I remember.  She has an immediate…voltage.  She lights up the room with an energy and a laugh that wraps around everyone nearby.  It is an electricity that lit up Logan in a way I had never seen him, and it is obvious to anyone that knows them…she is the peanut butter to his jelly.  Alas, as things at the beach tend to go, you see certain friends on warm, sunny weekends only and may miss others for long stretches of time.  Lucky for me, the two got engaged and we reconnected.  Or should I say connected deeply for the first time.  It was an ah-ha moment of mine for sure.  These are the kind of people that you hang onto.

Heidi and Stephen, thank you so much for inviting me to be such an important part of your beautiful day.  I am so grateful to know people as warm and genuine as you.  Heidi, I should’ve known I’d love you the first time you uttered Jersey.  :)  Witnessing the deeply heartfelt confessions of all those at your wedding reaffirmed what I already knew…that certain people in life come and go, and others keep crossing your path for a reason (till you get the memo).  I feel incredibly blessed to know you both, to have shared in your moment with you, and I cannot wait to see what the coming years have in store!

Let’s start this off with a yummy little bit of detail, like a cathedral-length veil and an I.N.C.R.E.D.I.B.L.E. Pronovias gown.

Because two (diamond eternity bands) are better than one.

Double kudos to Leah Herzberg for stunning hair and makeup for Heidi.  And her NINE bridesmaids!!!

This cute little hanger didn’t stand a fighting chance against the weight of Heidi’s gorge Pronovias gown, but she still got the extra points for detail.  Stunning wedding gowns and booty hangers do not a fun mix make.

I have NO idea what was being said here.  I don’t care.  PRICELESS.

The ladies…and the Colonel.  I loooove his little grin and the way she stares at him.  LOVE.

Okay…go time.

My sidekick Danielle Klebanow caught this fab moment…

…while I caught this one.  Love.

Other sidekick photographer, aka my amazing husband Justin caught this one from up top.  He’s got a great eye!  I love the circle of girls beaming on.

First Presbyterian in Santa Monica was a photographer’s dream.  Skylights everywhere, stained glass windows, and that CEILING?!?!  Makes me think of Starry Night.

Official.

If you want to see a bride REALLY rock out on her way down the aisle, bring in these guys…

…an amazing choir to belt out some Journey for the exit.  It.  Was.  Awesome.


Now, normally I wouldn’t post so many reception photos….but this was seriously one of the most fun I have ever been to.  And I go to weddings.  A lot.

I got caught!!!  What can I say, I love the photos I get from a vantage point in the middle of the dance floor.  Sure, we’ll say that’s the reason.  :)

If you have ever been out in the Southbay, there is probably a strong chance you have been somewhere and heard Sweet Caroline come on.  Then, as if some secret society had been signaled, everyone (save the few completely and utterly confused who remain glued to their chairs) jumps up and starts singing.  Loudly.  First of all, it is a.m.a.z.i.n.g.  Secondly, it may have been this crowd leading the chorus.

Heidi and Logan, thank you again SO much for asking me to be a part of your wedding.  I love you guys!!

xoxo

Lori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heidi & Stephen permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:07 pm

    Lori!!! You did such an amazing job!!!! We are so in love with all of our pictures!!!! You went above and beyond. Everyone is raving over them : )

  2. Paula S. permalink
    May 10, 2011 6:30 am

    Wow! What a fantastic looking wedding and reception. I love what you captured and how you captured it! So much fun and so pretty to see. I am so glad I stumbled over here from Jasmine’s site. (Congrats on working with her too! I LOVED your story about it!)

Leave a Reply

